Appointments and Certifications

Important Notice:

Medicare Only: If selling "Medicare Only", please complete the Medicare Broker Appointment Form. Do not proceed further.

Broker Appointment Policy: Please ensure all required documentation is complete, legible and signed. If any required information is missing, incomplete or illegible, we will work with you to resubmit the application.

Broker Appointment Changes: Email broker appointment changes to Appointment@sentara.com. The Broker Appointment Form should be used for new appointments only.

Broker Appointment Fee: There is a $50 fee for appointment. Agency and Agent requests submitted on the same submission will only be charged one appointment fee. If an appointment is terminated, requests to become reappointed will be required to submit using the online process and the appointment fee will be charged a second time.This appointment fee is temporarily waived for Medicare Only Brokers.


Appointment Requirements

Items below are required to complete the appointment application:

  1. Virginia Life and Health License or Virginia Health License (required)
  2. Agency License (if applicable)
  3. Optima Health Substitute W9 (SF-W9) Form
  4. Broker Agreement (includes Business Associate and QHP Amendments)
  5. Portal User Profile (access to OptimaHealth.com secure Broker Portal)
  6. If an agent elects to sell Medicare, they will be directed to our training site to complete required training. If training is not completed, agents will not be paid on any Medicare business.
  7. We require all new agents to work with a General Agency (GA) or Field Marketing Organization (FMO). GA's specialize in Commercial and IP, and FMO's focus on Medicare only. If you do not have a preference and do not select a GA or FMO, one will be assigned to you. Below is a list of our preferred partners.

Approved General Agencies

Note: If you do not have a preference and do not select a General Agency, one will be assigned to you.

Agency Name Contact Name Contact Email Contact Phone
Blue Ridge Insurance Services Steve Flora
Cynthia Noble
sflora@brisinc.com 
cnoble@brisinc.com
(866) 904-8383
Choice Insurance Agency - FNBC Lindsey Waters lwaters@fnbc.cc (804) 288-6263 
(800) 234-5667
Choice Insurance Agency - Glandon Terry Wilkerson Terry.wilkerson@choiceins.com (757) 422-6729
Employee Benefits Corporation of America (EBCA) Pamela J Kerr pakerr@ebca.com (804) 290-1127 
(866) 638-0504
Innovative Insurance Group RJ Gibson rj@thinkinnovative.net (540) 777-0235
TFA Benefits Tamara Nelson appointments@tfabenefits.com (757) 340-3873

Approved FMO Agencies

Note: If you do not have a preference and do not select an FMO for Medicare business, one will be assigned to you.

Agency Name Contact Name Contact Email Contact Phone
Copeland Insurance Group Mike Yasi myasi@copelandgroupusa.com (512) 565-3839
Engagent Health Dalia Abate dabate@engagenthealth.com (800) 364-1139
GarityAdvantage Insurance Marketing Agencies Victoria Bailey vbailey@garityadvantage.com (240) 310-8817
GS National Steve Hoffman agentinfo@gsnational.com (855) 330-5566
Messer Financial Group Cyndi Martin contracting@messerfinancial.com (866) 568-9649 ext. 7813
MySeniorHealthPlan Vanessa Frias vanessa@myseniorhealthplan.com (619) 595-0937
Ritter Insurance Marketing Katie Neubauer license@ritterim.com (800) 769-1847 ext. 219
The Stinson Group Joseph Stinson jfstinson@stinsongroup.net (810) 923-1739

Get Appointment

By starting your application you acknowledge that you have read and agree to the above requirements.

I Agree, Start Application